

The Senate: Membership as at 28 June 2023

The President & Vice-Chancellor

Professor Koen Lamberts

The Provost & Deputy Vice-Chancellor

Professor Gill Valentine

The Vice-Presidents

Education Professor Mary Vincent
Research & Innovation Professor Sue Hartley OBE

Vice-Presidents & Heads of

Advanced Manufacturing Group
Faculty of Arts & Humanities
Faculty of Engineering
Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry & Health
Faculty of Science
Faculty of Social Sciences
Professor Geraint Jewell
Professor Susan Fitzmaurice
Professor Jim Litster (Interim)
Professor Ashley Blom
Professor John Derrick
Professor Craig Watkins

Faculty Directors of Education

Faculty of Arts & Humanities

Faculty of Engineering

Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry & Health
Faculty of Science

Faculty of Social Sciences

Dr Caoimhe Nic Dháibhéid¹

Professor Matt Carré

Dr Vanessa Halliday

Professor Louise Robson (Interim)

Professor Graham Gee

Faculty Directors of Research & Innovation

Faculty of Arts & Humanities
Professor Nikki Dibben
Faculty of Engineering
Professor Ashutosh Tiwari
Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry & Health
Faculty of Science
Professor Andrew Fleming
Faculty of Social Sciences
Professor Ruth Blakeley

Chairs of Senate Committees who are not otherwise members

Chair of the Senate University Research Ethics Committee: Dr Jennifer Burr (School of Health & Related Research)

¹ The Interim FDE for Arts & Humanities for 2022-23 has already been appointed as an elected member of the Senate.

Heads of Departments nominated by Faculty on an annual basis

AMRC Training Centre

Automatic Control & Systems Engineering

Chemical & Biological Engineering Civil & Structural Engineering

Computer Science

Economics

Electronic & Electrical Engineering English Language Teaching Centre

Health Sciences School Information School Lifelong Learning Management School

Materials Science & Engineering

Medical School

Oncology & Metabolism Physics & Astronomy

Psychology

School of Biosciences School of Clinical Dentistry

School of East Asian Studies

School of Education School of English

School of Health & Related Research School of Mathematics & Statistics

Sociological Studies Urban Studies & Planning Nikki Jones

Professor George Panoutsos
Professor Joan Cordiner
Professor Martin Mayfield
Professor Guy Brown
Professor Steven McIntosh
Professor Chee Hing Tan
Dr Richard Simpson
Professor Tracey Moore
Professor Val Gillet
Professor Willy Kitchen
Professor Rachael Finn
Professor Serena Cussen
Professor Michelle Marshall

Professor Allan Pacey Professor Luke Wilson Professor Elizabeth Milne Professor Robert Freckleton

Professor Chris Deery

Professor Kate Taylor-Jones Professor Rebecca Lawthom

Professor Jane Hodson Professor Mark Strong Professor Jeremy Oakley Professor Nathan Hughes Professor David Robinson

Chief Operating Officer

Rob Sykes

University Librarian

Anna Clements

Elected representatives of staff in Grade 7 & above

For the period until 2025

Dan Barcroft Professional Services
Professor Stephen Beck Faculty of Engineering
Professor Briony Birdi Faculty of Social Sciences
Professor John Flint Faculty of Social Sciences

Steve Foxley Extra-Faculty

Professor Matthew Gilbert Faculty of Engineering

Dr Laura Gray Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health

Dr Sam Marsh Faculty of Science
Professor Matt Marshall Faculty of Engineering

Professor Cheryl Miller Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health

Professor David Mowbray Faculty of Science

Dr Caoimhe Nic Dháibhéid Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Dr Siobhán North Faculty of Engineering
Professor Simon Rushton Faculty of Social Sciences
Dr Neil Walkinshaw Faculty of Engineering

For the period until 2024

Professor Sumon Bhaumik Faculty of Social Sciences

Professor Caitlin Buck Faculty of Science

Dr Joshua Forstenzer Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Matt Jones Professional Services

Professor Janine Kirby Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health

Dr Matthew Malek Faculty of Science

Dr Ben Purvis Faculty of Social Sciences

For the period until 2023

Dr Ross Bellaby Faculty of Social Sciences
Revd Dr Jeremy Clines Professional Services

Dr Sarah Hale Extra-Faculty

Louise Hall Professional Services
Dr Candice Majewski Faculty of Engineering

Dr Edith Poku Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Professor Christopher Stokes Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health

Dr David Vessey Extra-Faculty

Six Student Officers

Students' Union President Liam Hand (2022-23)
Students' Union Education Officer Alison Romaine (2022-23)
Students' Union representative Nana Musa (2022-23)

Students' Union representative Onyedikachi Nwabueze (2022-23)

Students' Union representative Alice Patterson (2022-23) Students' Union representative Heather Sadiq (2022-23)

The Secretary to the Senate

Jeannette Strachan (The University Secretary)