

University Secretary's Office.

The Council, 25 November 2019 Report of the Council Nominations Committee

Date: October 2019 (business conducted by correspondence)

Chair: Mr T Pedder
Secretary: Mr D T Swinn

1. Quorum

CNC's terms of reference and membership provides for a maximum six members. Reducing the quorum by one whilst retaining the requirement for a lay majority would make a positive practical difference to scheduling meetings and the effective and timely discharge of CNC business. By way of context, Audit Committee has eight members, but a quorum of just two and Finance Committee has 13 members with a quorum of five.

When CNC met in June 2019 the meeting was inquorate and decisions taken had to be ratified by those members who were unable to attend. Therefore, CNC reviewed its requirements as to quorum and recommends that Council approve a change from a quorum of four to three members, of whom not more than one may be a member of staff. Revised terms of reference are attached as an Appendix.

2. Appointments by Chair's Action

Council is asked to note the following appointments to Committees of Council and Senate, which have been approved by Chair's action since CNC's meeting in June, in order to fill outstanding vacancies and enable new committee members to attend the first meetings of 2019-20, and for inclusion in the University Almanac.

Senate Research Ethics Committee:

• Mrs Judith Hardy, lay member, for the period 2019-22,

Mrs Hardy is recently retired and has a professional background in HR, undertaking roles with a significant focus on professional ethics, integrity, communication and organisational values, which the Committee believes would enable her to provide valuable input to the Committee's work. She has also been active in the role of volunteer external ethics reviewer for the University for a number of years, and has attended training in this regard, so she already has a good understanding of the University's ethics arrangements, and has demonstrated her interest in this area;

• Dr Ken Inweregbu, lay member, for the period 2019-22,

Dr Inweregbu is a Consultant Anaesthetist at Barnsley Hospital NHS Trust, so has been actively involved in patient care and has significant experience of ensuring that patient's dignity, rights, safety and well-being are ensured. He also has some experience of undertaking research himself, so he also brings valuable experience from the point of view of a researcher. He has also been active in the role of

volunteer external ethics reviewer for the University for some time, and has attended training in this regard.

<u>Universities of Sheffield Military Education Committee:</u>

• Mr Stephen Sly, lay member, for the period 2019-22

Council Nominations Committee

Terms of Reference: Section 3 of the Statutes and Regulation II.

- To bring forward recommendations to the Council of persons for appointment to Class (3) of the Council in accordance with Regulation II: 2, and in so doing, ensure appropriate alumni representation on Council, with a least one Class (3) member being a graduate of the University.
- 2. To bring forward recommendations to the Council of persons for appointment as Officers in accordance with Regulation VI: 2-4.
- 3. To bring forward recommendations to the Council for the appointment of persons to represent the Council on Committees of the Council, the Senate and their Sub-Committees.
- 4. To approve recommendations for the appointment of directors to serve on the boards of University subsidiaries.
- 5. To promote equality and diversity in respect of the appointments falling within its remit.

Reports to: Council.

Membership:

See Regulation II.

Chair (Chair of the Council & Pro-Chancellor)	Mr Tony Pedder OBE	
Pro-Chancellors	Mrs Alison Hope	
	Mr Richard Mayson	
Treasurer	Mr John Sutcliffe	
President & Vice-Chancellor	Professor Koen Lamberts	
Provost & Deputy Vice-Chancellor	Professor Gill Valentine	
In attendance (ex-officio):		
University Secretary	Dr Tony Strike	
At times when only two Pro-Chancellors are in post, one additional member, who will normally be a member of Council, will be appointed by the Council	N/A	N/A
Secretary	Mr David Swinn (University Office)	Secretary's

Quorum: Three Four members of the Committee, of whom not more than one may be a member of staff of the University.