

University Secretary's Office.

# The Council, 8 July 2019

# **Report of the Council Nominations Committee**

**Date:** Meeting held on 4 June 2019

Chair: Mr T Pedder
Secretary: Mr D Swinn

## Introduction

The Committees meeting on 4 June 2019 was not quorate but the decisions proposed were circulated by email and have been ratified by sufficient members to constitute a valid quorum.

# 1. Appointment of the Officers

The Committee noted the position in respect of the lay Officers:

- No action is required in respect of the Chair of Council. Tony Pedder's reappointment as Chair and Pro-Chancellor until 31 July 2021.
- No action is required in respect of the Treasurer. John Sutcliffe's current period of appointment ends on 31 July 2022.
- No action is required in respect of the Pro-Chancellors. Alison Hope and Richard Mayson's current period of appointment continues until 2021.

# 2. Membership of Council

# 2.1 Higher Education Code of Governance

The Committee has noted the section of the HE Code of Governance relating to the composition of governing bodies and the need to ensure that the approach to making appointments demonstrated a commitment to equality and diversity. The Committee has recognised the importance of actively seeking greater gender balance and wider diversity, e.g. using a specialist BAME recruiter, for vacancies arising in 2020 and beyond, The Committee has also considered an updated skills matrix illustrating the range of skills and experience provided by the current membership of Council.

# 2.2 Appointment of Class (3) members of the Council

(a) As at 31 July 2010, the number of Class (3) members will remain seven. There is no need to seek an eighth Class (3) as this position was created to provide flexibility and to be used at times when there were only two Pro-Chancellors. Keith Layden and Stephen Sly reach the end of their first period of appointment and are eligible for reappointment.

- (b) Following consideration, it is recommended that:
  - that Keith Layden be reappointed as a Class (3) member of Council for the period 1 August 2019 to 31 July 2022;
  - that **Stephen Sly** be reappointed as a Class (3) member of Council for the period 1 August 2019 to 31 July 2022;

## 2.3 Appointment of Class (2) members of Council (Senior Academic Officers)

The Statutes provide for not fewer than two and not more than three Senior Academic Officers (defined as the Provost & Deputy Vice- Chancellor and Vice-Presidents) are appointed annually by Council on the recommendation of the President & Vice-Chancellor. The Committee **agreed to recommend**:

- that Professor Gill Valentine (Provost & Deputy Vice-Chancellor) should be reappointed for a further year, to 31 July 2020;
- that Professor Wyn Morgan (Vice-President for Education) and Professor Dave Petley (Vice-President for Research) be appointed for the period 1 August 2019 to 31 July 2020.

# 3. Annual review of committee membership: representation on other bodies

## 3.1 Council representation on other University committees

The Committee has received details of the vacancies due to arise on committees of the Council and other bodies on which the Council is represented, and has agreed to make the following **recommendations**:

## (a) Committees of the Council

## (i) Audit Committee

That Richard Mayson be re-appointed for the period 2019-20.

That Kevin Cunningham and Claire Davis be re-appointed for the period 2019-20.

That Professor Andrew Taylor be appointed for the period 2019-22.

That Ian Gilbert be appointed for the period 2019-22, subject to his willingness to serve.

## (iii) Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Committee

That Mr Gurpreet Durha be appointed for the period 2019-22, subject to his willingness to serve.

The Committee is considering the possible addition of a lay member of Council to the membership.

The Committee also confirmed that the Chair may be held by Gill Valentine, as a Senior Academic Officer member of Council.

#### (iii) Estates Committee

That Tony Wray be appointed for the period 2019-20 (i.e. the remainder of his current term on Council).

That Graeme Beck be re-appointed for the period 2019-20.

That Richard Hollox be re-appointed for the period 2019-20.

That Stephen Hodgson be re-appointed for the period 2019-22.

The Committee has reiterated comments made during its 2018 meeting relating to the importance of the Committee benefiting from a variety of independent perspectives, including from outside Sheffield, in order to provide appropriate assurance to Council strategic estates matters. The Nominations Committee has identified potential candidates who are being approached and confirmed that Estates Committee does not need to introduce a student member.

# (iv) Finance Committee

That David Bagley be re-appointed for the period 2019-21 (i.e. for the remainder of his current term on Council).

## (vii) Investment Group

That Nick Parker be re-appointed for the period 2019-22.

That Jon Dunn be re-appointed for the period 2019-20, subject to his willingness to serve.

# (b) Joint committees of the Senate and Council

## (i) Honorary Degrees Committee

That Mr Andrew Coombe be re-appointed for the period 2019-21.

That Ade Solanke be appointed for the period 2019-22.

That Professor Dame Carol Black be re-appointed as a corresponding member for the period 2019-20.

# (c) Committees of the Senate

# (i) Military Education Committee

That Dr Charlotte Coleman (Sheffield Hallam University) be appointed as Chair for the period 2019-22 (as per the agreement in 2018 that SHU would provide the Chair for the next three years).

That Dr Jonathan Rayner (University of Sheffield) be appointed as Vice-Chair for the period 2019-20.

## (ii) Research Ethics Committee

That Margaret Ellis be re-appointed for the period 2019-22.

# (v) Senate Nominations Committee

No action is required in respect of Council representation.

## (d) Other committees

# (i) Alumni Board

That Richard Mayson be reappointed as Chair for the period 1 August 2019 to 31 July 2020.

Following Council's agreement that the Board should become advisory to DARE, the appointment of other members is a matter for the Board. However, Nominations Committee has suggested that no further action be taken at this time, pending a review of the operation of the Board under its revised terms of reference at the end of 2019-20, including the need for Council representation.

# 3.2 Appeals against dismissal: panel membership

The Committee **agreed to recommend** that the following individuals be reappointed for the period 1 August 2019 to 31 July 2020 to the pool from which, in accordance with the Statutes and Regulations of Council, an independent panel member would be selected should the need to establish a panel arise:

- (a) Independent professionals: Martin Pinder, Judith Hardy, Tony Pedder, Steve Walmsley;
- (b) Independent professionals/academics from partner institutions: Louise Edwards-Holland, Karen Heaton, Andrew Mullen.