

The University Of Sheffield. University Secretary's Office.

The Council, 9 July 2018

Report of the Council Nominations Committee

Date:Meeting held on 6 June 2018Chair:Mr T PedderSecretary:Mr D Swinn

1. Appointment of the Officers

The Committee noted the position in respect of the lay Officers:

- No action is required in respect of the Chair of Council. Tony Pedder's reappointment as Chair and Pro-Chancellor until 31 July 2021.
- No action is required in respect of the Treasurer. David Young's current period of appointment ends on 31 July 2018. Council previously approved the appointment of John Sutcliffe as Treasurer for the period 1 August 2018 to 31 July 2022.
- No action is required in respect of the Pro-Chancellors. Alison Hope and Richard Mayson's current period of appointment continue until 2021.

2. Membership of Council

2.1 Higher Education Code of Governance

The Committee has noted the section of the HE Code of Governance relating to the composition of governing bodies and the need to ensure that the approach to making appointments demonstrated a commitment to equality and diversity. The Committee has also considered an updated skills matrix illustrating the range of skills and experience provided by the current membership of Council.

2.2 Appointment of Class (3) members of the Council

- (a) As at 31 July 2018, and assuming Katherine Whitton takes up appointment on 1 August 2018 as approved by Council in July 2017, one potential vacancy will exist (*vice* Simon Eden). The number of Class (3) members will reduce from eight to seven. There is no need to seek a replacement for Simon Eden as the eighth Class (3) position was created to provide flexibility and to be used at times when there were only two Pro-Chancellors. David Bagley reaches the end of a first period of service and is eligible for reappointment.
- (b) Following consideration, it is recommended that:
 - that David Bagley be reappointed as a Class (3) member of Council for the period 1 August 2018 to 31 July 2021;

2.3 Appointment of Class (2) members of Council (Senior Academic Officers)

The Statutes provide for not fewer than two and not more than three Senior Academic Officers (defined as the Provost & Deputy Vice- Chancellor and Vice-Presidents) are

appointed annually by Council on the recommendation of the President & Vice-Chancellor. The Committee **agreed to recommend**:

- that Professor Gill Valentine (Provost & Deputy Vice-Chancellor) should be reappointed for a further year;
- that Professor Wyn Morgan (Vice-President for Education) and Professor Dave Petley (Vice-President for Research) be appointed as the second and third Senior Academic Officers for the period 1 August 2018 to 31 July 2019.

3. Annual review of committee membership: representation on other bodies

3.1 Council representation on other University committees

The Committee has received details of the vacancies due to arise on committees of the Council and other bodies on which the Council is represented, and has agreed to make the following **recommendations**:

(a) Committees of the Council

(i) Audit Committee

That Professor Shelagh Brumfitt be reappointed for the period 2018-21.

That Tony Wray be appointed for the period 2018-21.

(iii) Equality, Diversity & Inclusion Committee

That Luke Staniland be reappointed for the period 2018-21.

That Dame Athene Donald be reappointed for the period 2018-21.

(iii) Estates Committee

That Rob Sykes be reappointed for the period 2018-19 (i.e. for the remainder of his current term on Council).

That Adrian Belton be appointed as Chair for the period 2018-20 (i.e. for the remainder of his current term on Council).

(iv) Finance Committee

That, subject to her willingness to serve and the support of the Treasurer and Chief Financial Officer, Katherine Whitton be appointed for the period 2018-21.

That Melanie Perkins be reappointed for the period 2018-21.

(v) Health and Safety Committee

No action required in respect of Council representation.

(vi) Human Resources Committee

Consideration is being given to the vacancy *vice* Margaret Gildea and a recommendation be made to Council in due course.

(vii) Investment Group

That Melanie Perkins (an experienced portfolio manager and nonexecutive) be appointed for the period 2018-21.

Consideration is being given to the remaining vacancy and a recommendation be made to Council in due course.

(viii) Senior Remuneration Committee

No action required in respect of Council representation.

(b) Joint committees of the Senate and Council

(i) Honorary Degrees Committee

That Andrew Coombe, Claire Kilner, Martin McKervey, Sir Peter Middleton, Dame Anne Rafferty and Professor Dame Carole Black be reappointed for a further year.

(c) Committees of the Senate

(i) Employability Board

That David Clark, Neil Lant and James Pennock be reappointed for the period 2018-21.

That Diana Buckley (Head of Economic Strategy and Marketing, City Growth Department, Sheffield City Council) be appointed for the period 2018-21.

That Lisa Nicholas (Senior Talent Acquisition Specialist, Siemens plc) be appointed with immediate effect until 31 July 2020.

(ii) Learning and Teaching Committee

Consideration is being given to the vacancy *vice* Rebecca Carpenter and a recommendation be made to Council in due course.

It was also noted that the Committee's terms of reference are currently under review.

(iii) Military Education Committee

That Dr Jonathan Rayner (University of Sheffield) be appointed as Chair for one year (2018-19), as nominated by the President & Vice-Chancellor.

That Ms Jayne Revill (Sheffield Hallam University) be appointed as Vice-Chair for one year (2018-19), as nominated by the President & Vice-Chancellor.

(iv) Research Ethics Committee

No action is required in respect of Council representation.

(v) Senate Nominations Committee

No action is required in respect of Council representation.

(d) Other committees

(i) Alumni Board

That Richard Mayson be reappointed as Chair for the period 1 August 2018 to 31 July 2019.

(ii) Sport Sheffield Board

No action is required in respect of Council representation.

3.2 Appeals against dismissal: panel membership

The Committee **agreed to recommend** that the following individuals be reappointed for the period 1 August 2018 to 31 July 2019 to the pool from which, in accordance with the Statutes, an independent panel member would be selected should the need to establish

a panel arise:

- (a) Independent professionals: Martin Pinder, Judith Hardy, Tony Pedder, Steve Walmsley;
- (b) Independent professionals/academics from partner institutions: Louise Edwards-Holland, Karen Heaton, Andrew Mullen.

3.3 Subsidiary Boards

The Committee noted that a vacancy will arise on the Unicus Board *vice* Simon Eden, in respect of which a recommendation will be made to Council in due course.