

Strategy, Planning & Governance.

The Council, 11 July 2016 Report of the Council Nominations Committee

Date: 6 June 2016
Chair: Mr T Pedder

Secretary: Ms S M Stephens

1. Appointment of the Officers

No action is required in respect of the Chair of Council, Council having approved (April 2016) Tony Pedder's reappointment as Chair and Pro-Chancellor until 31 July 2021.

No action is required in respect of the Treasurer; David Young's current period of appointment continues until 31 July 2018.

No action is required in respect of the Pro-Chancellor; Sarah Harkness's current period of appointment continues until 31 July 2017.

The Committee has agreed, however, that an invitation should be circulated to lay members of Council inviting expressions of interest in the role of Pro-Chancellor. The Charter requires there to be not fewer than two Pro-Chancellors, and until recently the practice has been to have three.

2. Membership of Council

2.1 Higher Education Code of Governance

The Committee has noted the section of the HE Code of Governance relating to the composition of governing bodies and the need to ensure that the approach to making appointments demonstrated a commitment to equality and diversity. The Committee has also considered an updated skills matrix illustrating the range of skills and experience provided by the current membership of Council.

2.2 Appointment of Class (3) members of the Council

- (a) As at 31 July 2016, two vacancies will exist (*vice* Professor Dymph van den Boom and Mr John Kelly, who has indicated that he does not wish to seek reappointment). Following amendment of the Statutes in 2015-16 to create additional flexibility, provision exists to make a third new appointment. The Committee noted that factors to be taken into account in considering appointments to Class (3) include:
 - the desirability of maintaining or improving the current gender balance (for lay officers and lay members currently 25% women; for Council as a whole 44%);
 - the need to maintain an appropriate balance of skills and experience;
 - the need to maintain a lay majority on Council at all times;
 - the desirability of at least one new member being locally based, to increase the capacity to populate sub-committees and engage in activities related to Council.

- (b) Following consideration of a number of potential candidates, it is recommended that Stephen Sly (Partner and Joint Global Head of Litigation and Regulatory at DLA Piper) be appointed for the period 1 August 2016 to 31 July 2019. Mr Sly is a graduate of the University (LLB, Law, 1984) and received the Professor Robert Boucher Distinguished Alumni Award in 2015. https://www.sheffield.ac.uk/alumni/news/stephen_sly_distinguished_alumni_award-1.484246
- (c) The Committee has agreed that a more detailed assessment of a number of women alumnae identified as potential candidates by DARE be undertaken, with a view to informal meetings taking place to assess interest and suitability.
- (d) An additional appointment (or appointments) will be recommended to Council in due course.

2.3 Appointment of Class (2) members of Council (Senior Academic Officers)

Under Regulations of Council, two Senior Academic Officers (ie the Deputy Vice-Chancellor/Pro-Vice-Chancellors) are appointed annually by Council on the recommendation of the Vice-Chancellor. The Committee endorses the Vice-Chancellor's **recommendation** that Professor Shearer West and Professor Gill Valentine be appointed for the period 1 August 2016 to 31 July 2017, and that Professor Nigel Clarke be appointed as deputy to Professor Valentine for the same period, attending Council meetings in her absence.

3. Annual review of committee membership: representation on other bodies

3.1 Council representation on other University committees

The Committee has received details of the vacancies due to arise on committees of the Council and other bodies on which the Council was represented, and has agreed to make the following **recommendations**:

(a) Committees of Council

(i) Audit Committee

That Alison Legg, Richard Mayson, Margaret Ferris and Kevin Cunningham be reappointed for the period 2016-19.

(ii) Board of the Advanced Manufacturing Institute

That Tony Pedder's chairmanship of the Board should continue, pending consideration of the governance arrangements for the AMRC and the outcome of the Council Effectiveness Review.

(iii) Equality and Diversity Board

That Zahid Hamid be reappointed for the period 2016-19.

That, following Council discussion in April 2016, the title of the Committee should be the Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Committee; also that Students' Union representation should comprise two sabbatical officers and the permanent member of SU staff responsible for equality, diversity and inclusion. With respect to Council representation on the Committee, it is recommended that one of the two members appointed by Council should normally be a member of Council, but that an appointment should be deferred so that any relevant outcomes from the Council Effectiveness Review can be taken into account.

(iv) Estates Committee

That Stephen Hodgson, Roger Hawkins, Graeme Beck, Richard Hollox and Andy Topley be reappointed for the period 2016-19.

(v) Finance Committee

That John Sutcliffe be reappointed for the period 2016-19.

(vi) Health and Safety Committee

That Samantha Bartholomew be reappointed for the period 2016-19.

(vii) Human Resource Management Committee

That Judith Hardy be reappointed for a further year.

(viii) Investment Group

That Nick Parker, until recently a member of Finance Committee, be appointed for the period 2016-19.

That Jon Dunn, Neville Peel and John Sutcliffe be reappointed for a further year.

(ix) Senior Remuneration Committee

That Richard Mayson be appointed for the period 1 August 2016 to 31 July 2019.

(b) Committees of Senate

(i) Careers Advisory Board

That Martin Donelan, Lorcan Seery, Peter Blenkiron Catherine Knight and James Ghafoor be reappointed for the period 2016-19.

That Laura Nicolson (talent acquisition lead, Siemens plc) be appointed *vice* Julia Janks for the period 2016-19.

That Clare Viney (Director of Membership and External Affairs, Royal Society of Chemistry) and Hazel Jones (Head of Combination Therapies, Cancer Research UK) be appointed as new members for the period 2016-19 in order to expand employer representation on the Board.

(ii) Learning and Teaching Committee

That, subject to his willingness to serve, Keith Layden be reappointed for the period 2016-19.

(iii) Research Ethics Committee

That Robert Fitzharris and Peter Allmark be reappointed for the period 2016-19.

(c) Other committees

(i) Honorary Degrees Committee

That Andrew Coombe, Claire Kilner, Sir Peter Middleton, Lord Broers, Dame Anne Rafferty and Professor Dame Carole Black be reappointed for a further year.

That Martin McKervey (Partner, Nabarro LLP) be appointed as an attending member for the period 1 August 2016 to 31 July 2017.

(ii) Sport Sheffield Board

Action is being taken to identify an appropriate individual for appointment to a vacancy.

(iii) Alumni Board

That Alison Legg be appointed as Deputy Chair for the period 1 August 2016 to 31 July 2019.

That the Board's terms of reference be amended to remove the requirement for its Deputy Chair to be a member of Council.

3.2 Appeals against dismissal: panel membership

The Committee agreed to **recommend** that the following individuals be reappointed for the period 1 August 2016 to 31 July 2017 to the pool from which, in accordance with the Statutes, an independent panel member would be selected should the need to establish a panel arise:

- (a) Independent professionals: Mr Martin Pinder, Mrs Judith Hardy, Mr Tim Gilpin, Mr Tony Pedder, Mr Steve Walmsley.
- (b) Independent professionals/academics from partner institutions: Mrs Louise Edwards-Holland, Ms Karen Heaton, Mr Andrew Mullen.